Browse By

Call for Submissions: 34th College Television Awards and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship

The 34th College Television Awards and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship Welcomes Applicants in All Categories

NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA, December 10, 2012 – The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation is now accepting submissions for two of its renowned student programs: the 34th College Television Awards competition and the Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship, which honors the legacy of Fred Rogers (“Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood”). These competitions are open to college and graduate students nationwide.

 These programs champion the core educational goals of the Foundation, which are to preserve and celebrate the medium of television and educate those who will impact its future.  This year for the first time, recipients of both the College Television Awards and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship will be honored at the same awards gala, slated to take place the evening of Thursday, April 25, 2013 at the JWMariott Los Angeles at L.A. Live.

Applications for all four scholarships are now available online at The application deadline for the Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship is January 31st, 2013.

For complete details click More

“Both the College Television Awards and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship stand as two of the Foundation’s most prestigious educational programs,” said Norma Provencio Pichardo, Executive Director of the Television Academy Foundation. “We continue to be inspired by the applicants, who represent the best and brightest students in the nation and the future of the television industry.”

The College Television Awards is a nationwide competition that recognizes excellence in student produced video, digital and film productions across 12 categories.  Starting today, submissions are being accepted for all categories at The deadline for the College Television Awards submissions is January 29th, 2013 at 6:00 PM PST.

College Television Award winners in each category will receive a cash award and the day before the gala, they will attend a Winners’ Summit featuring a day full of panel discussions with industry professionals.

Previous College Television Award winners have gone on to achieve illustrious notable success in the industry, some winning Primetime Emmy® Awards and Oscars.  Several of last year’s winners are already on career “fast tracks.” “Best Children’s” winner, Brandon Habermeyer, utilized the program’s networking opportunities to land an internship with Lionsgate, where he is working on the set of “Catching Fire,” the second film of the “Hunger Games” trilogy.  “Best Director” winner, A. Todd Smith received numerous offers as a result of his win, subsequently co-directed a documentary/fiction film in Cambodia and now is slated to write and direct a feature film for a Utah production company.  After Lisa Rau’s “1st Place Magazine” win, she joined the video team at GOOD, a magazine and online platform devoted to connecting, informing and empowering idealists, as an assistant video editor.  As a direct result of Jennifer Austin’s win in the “News” category, she was offered a position as a television reporter at her local NBC affiliate in Duluth, Minnesota.

Returning for its third year to the College Television Awards is the Focus on Diversity and Gender Equality in Children’s Media Award ($5,000) sponsored by the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, which will be presented to a student who produces a work targeted to children ages 2 – 11 that challenges typically held gender roles. The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship ($10,000) returns for a fourth year and will be presented to a student whose work best sheds light on the unique experiences of those with a disability or is produced by a student with a disability.

Sharing the evening with the College Television Award winners will be the undergraduate or graduate students selected as Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship recipients.  The scholarships recognize students making strides in the field of children’s media, furthering the legacy of television’s “Mister Rogers” to use children’s media as a positive and enriching force in child education and entertainment. Recipients are selected by demonstrating commitment to early childhood education, child development and psychology through media. The awards come in the form of four $10,000 endowments—three underwritten by Ernst &Young LLP, and one sponsored by the Pittsburgh-based Grable Foundation. The Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship recipients will also be assigned mentors from the Television Academy’s Children’s Programming Group to work with them on the research project or development of program content underwritten by the scholarship grant. Applications for all four scholarships are now available online at The application deadline for the Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship is January 31st, 2013.

For the seventh year in a row, MTV’s Peabody- and Emmy® Award-winning 24-hour college network, mtvU, will serve as the online media partner hosting online submissions and judging at  mtvU is the largest and most comprehensive media network for college students, reaching 750 campuses and more than 9 million college students nationwide.

This year, Vimeo will join mtvU as a video partner for the College Television Awards as students will also upload their videos and judges will be viewing the work using this platform.

About the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation is dedicated to preserving and celebrating the history of the medium, and educating those who will shape its future. Some of the Foundation’s programs include the Archive of American Television, its renowned student internship program and the College Television Awards.  For more information on the Foundation, please visit

About Ernst & Young

Ernst & Young is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 167,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve their potential.

Ernst & Young refers to the global organization of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. For more information about our organization, please visit

About mtvU

Broadcast to more than 750 college campuses, mtvU reaches upwards of 9 million U.S. college students – making it the largest, most comprehensive television network just for college students. mtvU is dedicated to every aspect of college life, reaching students everywhere they are: on-air, online and on campus. mtvU programs music videos from emerging artists that can’t be seen anywhere else, news, student life features and initiatives that give college students the tools to advance positive social change. mtvU is always on campus, with more than 250 events per year, including exclusive concerts, giveaways, shooting mtvU series and more. For more information about mtvU, and a complete programming schedule, visit

Contact: Stephanie Booker, Bianca Doria

Beck Media and Marketing,